RUSSO YUBERO

Rte du Grand-Lancy 6a,

1227 Genève Acacias Switzerland

+41 792929049

CONTACT GALLERY

+ 41 79 292 9049
Email me

©2019 by RUSSO YUBERO

PORTRAIT_PRESCHOUX.jpeg
SEBASTIEN PRESCHOUX

"To watch Sébastien PRESCHOUX work is to agree to oscillate between the serenity of a work that lets itself be built without haste and the tension of an infinitely precise gesture, graciously measured, drastically governed by a process of measurements and counting. The work stretches in time, punctuated by the repeated gesture of the handling of the rule and the compass.

 

Without impatience, Sébastien PRESCHOUX unfolds the movement of the drawing in the time, let the material unfold in the space. This way that one might think laborious to draw the line, to form the curve or to stretch the thread is proving, for the spectator attentive to the work being done, as a moment of appeasement. Repetition of delicate gestures, smoothly, the time of creation is similar here to a litany of gentle gesture in the eyes.

We could find surprising the choice of this artist who has rubbed the profession of graphic designer for a while, to return to fundamentals: the hand, the body, the physical commitment. To find it even more surprising to maintain the ambiguity of his practice by the motives he summons and which, in fact, could easily pass for digital images or photomontages. For the artist, it is to take the risk of being accused of being a maker by a lack of attention that the spectator would bring to the material or out-dated by the adept of the machine. In two dimensions, the drawings of Sébastien PRESCHOUX seem aminated vibrations, attributable perhaps to imperfections inherent to the fallible nature of the hand. However obvious, the quality of the supports, the furrows of the ink dug by the points, the lines of punches left by the compass are the physical markers which create the motive, oh how far from the flatness of a digital printing. Three-dimensional, the installations difract the light and find in the natural framework of their implementation an obvious case. Photographed by Ludovic Le Couster, these pieces of son acquire an almost surreal aspect that tends to amalgamate the proofs to photomontages.

 

The border between art and crafts is moving and homology with digital rendering too disturbing. A look without requirement will be misleading. The endurance of the work of creation poses the condition sine quanone of a benevolent slowness in the visit, so that real is the meeting of the eye and the object.

 

Valérie NAM (writer)

RUSSO YUBERO

Rte du Grand-Lancy 6a,

1227 Genève Acacias Switzerland

+41 792929049

CONTACT GALLERY

+ 41 79 292 9049
Email me

©2019 by RUSSO YUBERO

PORTRAIT_PRESCHOUX.jpeg
SEBASTIEN PRESCHOUX

“Regarder oeuvrer Sébastien PRESCHOUX c’est accepter d’osciller entre la sérénité d’un ouvrage se laissant construire sans précipitation et la tension d’un geste infiniment précis, gracieusement mesuré, drastiquement régit par un processus de mesures et de comptage. Le travail s’étire dans le temps, rythmé par le geste répété du maniement de la règle puis du compas.

 

Sans impatience, Sébastien PRESCHOUX déroule le mouvement du dessin dans le temps, laisse la matière se déployer dans l’espace. Cette manière qu’on pourrait penser laborieuse de tracer la ligne, de former la courbe ou de tendre le fil s’éprouve, pour le spectateur attentif au travail en train de se faire, comme un instant d’apaisement. Répétition de geste délicats, sans à-coup, le temps de création s’apparente ici à une litanie gestuelle douce au regard.

 

 

On pourrait trouver étonnant le choix de cet artiste qui s’est frotté à la profession de graphiste durant un temps, de revenir aux fondamentaux : la main, le corps, l’engagement physique. Trouver plus étonnant encore d’entretenir l’ambiguïté de sa pratique par les motifs qu’il convoque et qui de fait, pourraient aisément passer pour des images numériques ou des photomontages. Pour l’artiste, c’est prendre le risque d’être taxé de faiseur par un défaut d’attention que le spectateur porterait à la matière ou de suranné par l’adepte de la machine. En deux dimensions, les dessins de Sébastien PRESCHOUX semblent aminés de vibrations, imputables peut-être aux imperfections inhérentes au caractère faillible de la main. Pourtant patents, la qualité des supports, les sillons de l’encre creusés par les pointes, les lignes de poinçons laissées par le compas sont les balises physiques qui créent le motif, ô combien éloigné de la planéité d’une impression numérique. Tridimensionnelles, les installations difractent la lumière et trouvent dans le cadre naturel de leur implémentation un écrin évident. Photographiées par Ludovic Le Couster, ces pièces de fils acquièrent un aspect presque surréel qui tend à amalgamer les épreuves à des photomontages.

 

La frontière entre l’art et l’artisanat se fait mouvante et l’homologie avec le rendu numérique trop troublante. Un regard sans exigence sera trompeur. L’endurance du travail de création pose la condition sine quanone d’une lenteur bienveillante dans la visite, pour que réelle soit la rencontre de l’oeil et de l’objet.”

 

Valérie NAM (écrivain)